783 Port Reading Ave, NJ

FAQ

We have answered some of the frequently asked questions on our website. If you still want to know more, we are here to answer your queries. Leave us a question here

BASIC QUESTIONS:

  • What are the requirements for my 16 year old to get their NJ Permit?
    Three requirements must be met before getting your learner’s permit: Written Knowledge Test (NJ Permit Test) Vision Test 6 hour behind the wheel driver training We offer the written knowledge test (NJ permit test) and vision tests in our Moorestown office for 16 year old drivers. For those students who have taken the written knowledge test (NJ permit test) in school, you will only need to take your vision test. Contact us to schedule an appointment.
  • How do I obtain the NJ Learners Permit?
    We make routine trips to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC). As part of our service, we will apply for your NJ learners permit and you will receive it after the completion of your three requirements. Please contact us and we’ll let you know what is needed.
  • What do you do after you get your validated NJ learners permit?
    Once you receive your validated NJ learners permit, you may use your permit for personal driving with a three-year licensed NJ driver, 21 years of age or older, from 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. You must practice supervised driving for a minimum of six months. We also highly recommend that you expand your driver education with our Defensive Driving course. Students who complete a 6 hour behind the wheel driver training course with South Jersey Driving School will be issued a “certified-trained driver” certificate to be presented to his/her insurance company for an insurance reduction. Find out more about our classes here, or contact us now to register.
  • What is the process to scheduling the NJ Road Test?
    A1 Driving School New Jersey will schedule the appointment to take the behind the wheel NJ Road Test when the learners permit is issued. The date of the exam will be listed on the lower center portion of the back side of the NJ learners permit. Most NJ Road Test appointments are scheduled for early morning on the date of the student driver’s 17th birthday.
  • Is there anything else I can do besides taking a 6 hour behind the wheel driver training course to improve my chances of passing the NJ Road Test the first time?
    Yes! We will do everything we can to make sure you get your NJ drivers license, and are the safest driver possible. See our services page for more details.
  • Can you take our child to the NJ road test when the time comes?
    Of course! As an optional service, we’ll pick you up and take you to your NJ road test location. We recommend a driving review lesson sometime prior to your NJ road test appointment date. Find out more about our new driver Review Lessons here, or contact us now to register.
  • What is the process like to getting your NJ Basic Drivers License?
    Once you turn 18 and have completed all of the above requirements, it’s time for the real thing! You must go to the NJ MVC with your 6-points of ID and apply for your basic drivers license. You’re done with the graduated drivers license (GDL) laws and you can now drive without hour or passenger restrictions. Congratulations!
  • We have a 16 yr. old, why must we go through a driving school?
    The driving age in NJ is 17. The state of NJ has an “early bird route” that allows a student driver, at the age of 16, to drive with supervision only after they receive a minimum of 6 hours of behind the wheel driving instruction with a NJ state-certified driving school.
  • Do you have dual controls?
    All of the A1 Driving School New Jersey vehicles have a dual brake system, allowing the instructor to stop the car if (or when) necessary. This is required by the state of NJ.
  • Do I still need to take the NJ Permit test if I am older than age 16?
    Any new driver younger than 21 years old is required to complete the full New Jersey MVC graduated driver licensing (GDL) program. There are also restrictions for drivers over the age of 21. For more information, you can click here, or feel free to call our office (732)-541-8800 to discuss your situation, and we will be happy to assist you.
  • Can I use MY car for a road test?
    Yes you can, with some stipulation. It is not required that a driving school take your child to the road test; however, you MUST have an emergency brake in the middle of the front seats IF your vehicle has a full center console. If the center console denies access to the brake pedal for an emergency stop by the inspector, you are not allowed to use that vehicle. If you do not have a suitable vehicle, or if you would like to have A1 Driving School New Jersey take your student driver to the test, we are happy to provide you with current pricing for this service and to get you on our schedule. Please feel free to contact us at (856) 235-7333

ADD QUESTION: